Recent Posts
Featured Posts

What are the Seven Grandfather Teachings?

Seven Grandfather Teachings The Seven Grandfather Teachings are the most commonly shared North American teachings. Many Aboriginal organizations and communities have adopted the Seven guiding principals, in one form or another, as a moral stepping stone and cultural foundation. The teachings vary from nation to nation, because of geographical placement However, the Ojibwe teaching commonly come from the same root and share a similar message. They all share the same concepts of abiding by a moral respect for all living things.

Many view the Seven Grandfather Teachings as traditional knowledge that collectively represents what is needed for community survival. These gifts are to help people live a good life, respect the Creator, the earth and each other.

Wisdom - Nbwaakaawin:

Wisdom is represented by the beaver because he uses his natural gift wisely for his survival. The beaver also alters his environment in an environmentally friendly and sustainable way for the benefit of his family.

To cherish knowledge is to know wisdom.

To have wisdom is to know the difference between positive and negative and know the result of your action.

Use your inherent gifts wisely and live your life by them. Recognize your differences and those of others in a kind and respectful way. Continuously observe the life of all things around you. Listen with clarity and a sound mind. Respect your own limitations and those of all of your surroundings. Allow yourself to learn and live by your wisdom.

The Creator gave the Beaver large teeth and the knowledge of how to build. This has enabled the Beaver to positively impact its environment and create a more sustainable world.